AYREON Streams Prog Rock Masterpiece ‘The Source’ In Its Entirety

It has now been a full three days since Ayreon and its brilliant musical mastermind, Arjen Anthony Lucassen, released the new album ‘The Source‘ (Music Theories Recordings). The album is the ninth opus from the brilliant Lucassen who once again enlisted an all-star cast of guest contributors, including singers James LaBrie (Dream Theater). Simone Simons (Epica), Floor Jansen (Nightwish), Hansi Kürsch (Blind Guardian), Tobias Sammet (Edguy, Avantasia) and Russell Allen (Symphony X, Adrenaline Mob) among others. Today we present The Source in all of its sonic glory via the full stream in its entirety below.

Once again like previous Ayreon albums, The Source is another conceptual double album, one set six billion years in the past, according to Earth time. Taking place on Planet Alpha, a world where computer intelligence has extended beyond human kind’s, ecological and political catastrophe threaten to exterminate all of humanity. The planet’s inhabitants, the Alphans, leave their fate in the hands of the ‘Frame,’ a global computer mainframe that ultimately discovers humans are the problem and must be eradicated. The Alphans plot escape and the story full unfolds outward over the duration of the album.

 Words by Pat “Riot” Whitaker