Matthew Thomas’ Top 60 Albums of 2017 + Top 10 EPs + Links to Listen…

Matthew Thomas’ Top 60 Albums of 2017

Top 10 EPs of 2017 + Links to Listen & Buy


1. Junius – Eternal Rituals for the Accretion of Light


2. Mastodon – Emperor of Sand


3. Elder – Reflections of a Floating World


4. Samsara Blues Experiment –  One With The Universe


5. Racquet Club – Racquet Club


6. Hobosexual – Monolith


7. Kadavar – Rough Times


8. Our Ceasing Voice – Free Like Tonight


9. Bask – Ramble Beyond


10. Wolf Parade – Cry Cry Cry


11. Telekinetic Yeti – Abominable


12. Sorority Noise – You’re Not As ___ As You Think


13. Ethereal Riffian – Afterlight DVD


14. Quicksand – Interiors


15. Spidergawd – IV


16. Forming the Void – Relic


17. All Them Witches – Sleeping Through the War


18. House of Lightning – Self Titled


19. The Black Angels – Death Song


20. Pallbearer – Heartless


21. Ohhms – The Fool




23. Mother Mars – On Lunar Highlands


24. Crackhouse – Be No One.  Be Nowhere.


25. LCD Soundsystem – American Dream


26. The Atomic Bitchwax – Force Field


27. Spaceslug – Time Travel Dilemma


28. Slowdive – Self Titled


29. Nekromant – Snakes and Liars


30. Frozen Planet…1969 – From the Centre of A Parallel Universe


31. Egypt – Cracks and Lines


32. Electric Orange – EOXXV


33. Electric Age – Sleep of the Silent King


34. Comacozer – Kalos Eidos Skopeo


35. Pink Frost – New Minds


36. Deaf Radio – Alarm


37. Red Scalp – Lost Ghosts


38. Earth Drive – Stellar Drone


39. I, Captain – Tiid


40. Red Mountains – A Slow Wander


41. Olde – Temple


42. Devil Electric – Self Titled


43. Sautrus – Anthony Hill


44. The Janitors – Horn Ur Marken


45. Electric Moon – Stardust Rituals


46. The Re-Stoned – Chronoclasm


47. Clouds Taste Satanic – The Glitter of Infinite Hell


48. Ufomammut – 8


49. Lamina – Lilith



50. Space Witch – Arcanum


The Final Tasty 10


51. Radio Moscow – New Beginnings


52. Geezer – Psychoriffadelia


53. Gypsy Sun Revival – Journey Outside of Time


54. Tau Cross – Pillar of Fire


55. Aphodyl // Cosmic Fall – Starsplit


56. Summoner – Beyond The Realm of Light


57. Contra – Deny Everything


58. Bloodnut – St. Ranga


59. Poseidon – Prologue


60. Propagandhi – Victory Lap



Top 10 EPs of 2017


1. Mastodon – Cold Dark Place


2. Howling Giant – Black Space Wizard Part 2


3. Kal-EL – Astrodoomeda


4. Cachemira – Jungla


5. Derelics – Guilty of Being Young


6. Bad Monster Black – Diablo




8. Traffic Death – Dead End


9. 1968 – 1968 EP


10. Norea – Norea

Ric “Suisyko” Dorr’s Top 25 Albums of 2017 + Links…

Ric “Suisyko” Dorr’s TOP 25 Albums of 2017

In NO particular order…


Matthew James & The Rust Belt Union – Impromptu Musicals For The Skeptic


Rex Brown – Smoke On This


Egypt – Cracks And Lines


Electric Age – Sleep Of The Silent King


All Them Witches – Sleeping Through The War


Bask – Ramble


Bronze – Self Titled

No link…
Dool – Here Now, There Then


Dopelord – Children Of The Haze


Collide – Color Of Nothing


Fairtrade Floyd – In Money We Trust


Freedom Hawk – Sunlight (Remastered)


Lo-Pan – In Tensions


Helmer – Self Titled


Mothersloth – Moon Omen


Otus – 7-38Hz


Plainride – Return Of The Jackalope (Re-issue)


Poste 942 – Long Play


Sautrus – Anthony Hill


Void Cruiser – Wayfarer


El Colosso – Pathways


Fire Down Below – Viper, Vixen, Goddess, Saint (Re-issue)


Murder Love God – The Negative (EP)


Savanah – The Healer


The Sky Is – Telepathie

__ __ __ __ __ __ ___ __ __ ___ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ ___ __ __ ___ ___ __ __

HONORABLE MENTION Dimebag Darrell The Hits


Egypt “Cracks and Lines” Album Review + Stream…


Cracks And Lines – Digital Download

Self Released – June 20, 2017

Reviewed by Ric “Suisyko” Dorr


FormedAround 2005

LocationFargo, North Dakota

Band Members:
Aaron Esterby – Bass/Vocals
Chad Heille – Drums
Ryan Grahn – Guitar (MK I)
Neal Stein – Guitar (MK II)

Previous Releases –

“S/T” EP (2009) / “Become The Sun” (2013) / “Cyclopeans Riffs” single (2013) / “Elsupremo” (2013) / “Endless Flight” EP (2015)

The story of EGYPT, as told by the band is as follows…

Quote “Back in 2005, an unknown heavy rock trio from Fargo, North Dakota, released a self-titled demo on a CD-R, and it turned out to be a record that just wouldn’t go away. Egypt’s “Egypt” smoldered for the next several years on the basis of underground word-of-mouth, to the point that Lyderhorn Records put it out on vinyl in 2007 and cult stoner imprint MeteorCity picked it up for a CD release in 2009. By then, it had outlasted the band – bassist/vocalist Aaron Esterby, guitarist Ryan Grahn and drummer Chad Heille – who called it quits in 2006. They reunited for a one-off hometown gig in May 2010, and it wasn’t long after that rumors started circulating of new material in the works. Grahn would leave the band before “Become the Sun” was finished and be replaced by Neal Stein, who also recorded the album. When they were done, ten years and one breakup later, they finally had a proper full-length debut, selling out initial pressings of both formats, CD and vinyl. Later 2013 brought the “Cyclopean Riffs” single, and in 2014, Doomentia repressed “Become the Sun” on vinyl. The “Self-Titled” also got yet another reissue, this time on vinyl and in time for Egypt to embark on a Midwest tour with a slot at Wisconsin’s ‘Days of the Doomed’ fest at its center. More than a decade after starting out, Egypt were more active and more widely known than they’d ever been. There’s nothing happenstance about it, in an age where word can travel faster than it ever has, Egypt have slow-burned their way to the fore of the American stoner rock… for a band who regrouped by popular demand, and have only gathered momentum since, Egypt are just beginning to shape their empire.” enquote.


Pro Band Pic


With this latest Album, “Cracks and Lines,” there is no question that this power trio is ready to take their place in the hierarchy of doom/stoner metal elite and have delivered the heaviest, most cohesive record to date. Five tracks and 39+ minutes of sonic bass lines supported by a drumline that could blow your speakers with the brutality of attack and a guitar line that is slathered on with abandon covered with vocals that is the quintessential ‘gravy on the potatoes’ for this masterpiece.

From opener ‘Final Heist’ with the lone guitar opening, to title track ‘Cracks And Lines’ with the full-on band rolling over a snare blast to ‘Dirge’ with the slow-fade intro that stays ‘slow and low’ throughout, there is no wonder why Egypt is still gathering momentum with such precisely executed compositions that show they are still true to their roots, especially as demonstrated by the updated KISS classic ‘Watching You’ that is an absolute salute in delivery and are yet able to spread their wings even further than before with the closing track and any stoner’s ‘wet-dream’, ‘What Lights This Ocean’.  Opening with a guitar line that could be from any Robin Trower session complete with spaced out soloing and an almost whispered vocal delivery to guest  Andrew Steinberg‘s Hammond organ giving even more body to this thirteen minute tome of absolute satiation, that is still not enough…



An absolute MUST-HAVE, go get it RIGHT NOW if you haven’t already, make SURE to see them in a live-setting if given the chance and share it with anyone and everyone as music of this caliber DESERVES the be heard, and as always, keep it LOUD!!


“For even MORE  flavors of Taste Nation LLC, follow/subscribe…”